Each US State can enforce a curfew law, and each will be specific to the city or town of a particular state. Colorado State does not have a statewide curfew; however, individual cities and towns within the state can and have set and enforce local curfews for juveniles.
In the Colorado Constitution’s Bill of Rights, you’ll find Article II, Section 3, which states that for individuals under 18 years of age freedom of movement is not a fundamental right. Although there is not set curfew in Colorado State, as mentioned earlier, the following cities have set and do enforce local juvenile curfews.
Colorado State Local Juvenile Curfew Laws
Juvenile curfew laws that have been set and are enforced in the various Colorado cities and states must be adhered to by both juvenile residents and visitors to the area. Failure to do so can result in a violation in the form of a ticket, or a trip to a safe site where parents or guardians are informed that the child is there and comes to pick them up.
Juveniles (all those under 18 years of age) in Denver, Colorado must stay off the streets during the hours of 11 pm to 5 am Sunday through Thursday. On Fridays and Saturdays the hours are changed to midnight until 5 am. If the juvenile breaks curfew during the winter season, the child will receive a violation in the form of a ticket. If the offense is committed during the summer season, the juvenile will be taken to a SafeNite Curfew Program center where they will remain there until their parents or guardians are notified and pick them up.
Boulder’s juvenile curfew law is a bit different than Denver’s. The city incorporated a juvenile curfew law in 2009 for all residents aged 16 years and under which states they cannot be out in public during the hours between 11 pm to 5 am. There is an exception to this rule and that is if a guardian or parent is accompanying the child. Other exceptions to this law include events which exercise their first amendment rights, returning home from an entertainment event such as a concert, or going to or from their employment.
The city of Vail has enforced a juvenile curfew law for specific times of the year. During the city’s July 4th and New Year’s Eve celebrations all resident and visitors under the age of 17 years cannot be in public between the hours of 10:30 pm on December 31st and 5 am on January 1st, unless they are accompanied by a parent, guardian, or older adult or have legitimate reasons to commute, such as, traveling to or from work.
Greeley has set and enforces one of Colorado State’s strictest curfew laws, which details the same hours as Boulder but ups the age to 18 years old. All those under the age of 18 must not be in public between 11 pm to 5 am on Sunday through Thursday, and between the hours from midnight to 5 am on Fridays and Saturdays. There are some exceptions to the law which include permission for juveniles to travel to and from work, when the juvenile is accompanied by an adult over the age of 18 with the parent’s consent, when traveling due to an emergency situation or traveling from a community or school event.
Pueblo city also enforces a juvenile curfew law which applies to all residents and visitors under 18 years of age. All those under 18 years must be off the streets unless they are chaperoned during the weekday by 10 pm and on the weekends by midnight.