The state of Colorado consists various regions: Mountains, Foothills, Eastern Plains, Western Slope, Palmer Divide, Front Range and Denver metro area. Where one area starts and another begins may not be instantly clear. An easy way to discern one area from another is by elevation from sea level as it pertains to Colorado. Find below more information about the different regions in Colorado and their identifying features.


Denver Metro Area

Denver metro area consists the area east of the foothills and the Rocky Mountains and West of the Eastern Plains. Metro area counties include Denver, Adams, Jefferson, Arapahoe, Douglas, Broomfield and Boulder counties. The population in Denver metro area is approximately 2.8 million.

Search Denver Metro Area Homes For Sale


The Foothills are regions in Colorado that run parallel to the Rocky Mountains. The Foothills are in general between 6,000 and 9,000 feet elevation. Evergreen, Conifer, Bailey, Estes Park, Nederland and Black Hawk are some of the cities and town in The Foothills west of Denver.

Search Foothills Homes For Sale


Front Range

Front Range area of Colorado is considered to be everything east of the Continental Divide to Interstate I-25, including the western communities of the greater Denver area. Front Range is popular destination for biking, hiking and camping during summer time.

Search Front Range Homes For Sale


Northern Colorado

Northern Colorado is situated north of Denver metro area and south of Wyoming border. Larger cities in northern Colorado include Loveland, Longmont, Greeley and Fort Collins. Fort Collins is the home of Colorado State University.

Search Northern Colorado Homes For Sale


Southern Colorado

Southern Colorado includes areas, cities and towns south of Denver metro area. The larger cities in southern Colorado including Colorado Springs, Pueblo and Alamosa. Colorado Springs is located near the base of Pikes Peak, one of the most famous mountains in the United States.

Search Southern Colorado Homes For Sale


Eastern Plains

The Eastern Plains refers to areas east of the Rocky Mountains and east of interstate I-25 in Colorado below 6,000 ft of elevation. The Eastern Plains geography includes mainly rolling plains. The Eastern Plain cities and towns include Greeley, Akron, Limon, Bennett and Yuma.

Search Eastern Plains Homes For Sale


Palmer Divide

Palmer Divide is a ridge of land in that goes from central Colorado, from the Front Range toward the eastern plains and between Denver and Colorado Springs. Palmer Divide area is from 6,000 to 7,500 feet of elevation, reaching its highest at Monument Hill, south of Castle Rock CO.

Search Palmer Divide Homes For Sale


Western Slope

A region of Western Colorado, west of the Continental Divide and at elevations below 7,000 feet is considered the Western Slope. Unlike the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains which has foothills, western slope consists of plateaus and mesas.

Western Slope



The mountain region of Colorado or The Mountains, are considered to be areas above 9,000 ft of elevation. Aspen, Snowmass Village, Vail, Breckenridge, Crested Butte are popular ski and vacation destinations in the mountains.

The Mountains